Library Cards

Getting a Library Card

Adults

Getting an All Access Library Card for Mooresville Public Library is easy and can be completed during your first visit to the library. This card allows access to materials at the Library as well as digital resources through our website.  To apply, you must present one of the following:

  • North Carolina Driver's License or Identification Card that includes a current address;
  • Driver's License or Identification Card and proof of address in North Carolina (mail, property tax statements, etc.); or
  • Official Photo Identification (Passport, Military ID, College ID, Work ID) and proof of address in North Carolina.

Online Access Only Library Cards allow access to digital books, audios, and other online resources.  Local adults who live or work in Iredell County or the Town of Mooresville may fill out an Application Online.

Nonresident Adults

Adults who reside outside of Iredell County may purchase a library card for $20 per year.

Teens

Teens age 13 - 17 may apply for a library card with or without a photo identification. If a teen does not have a photo ID, then a letter is mailed to their legal guardian informing them that a card has been issued.

Children

Children age 0 - 12 may have a library card in their name. A parent or legal guardian may apply for a library card for their child and must be present when the card is issued.

Lost Library Cards

Lost or stolen library cards may be replaced for a fee of $1.00.

Loan Periods & Fees

New library patrons may borrow 5 items during their first visit to the library. All other patrons may have a maximum of 35 items checked out on their library card at any given time. DVDs are limited to 10 per card.

 Materials
Loan Period
Overdue Charges (per day)
Audiobook
21 days
$0.25
Books
21 days
$0.25
New Books
7 days
$0.25
New Large-Print Books
14 days
$0.25
Holiday Books (5 per card)
7 days
$0.25
DVDs (10 total per card)
7 days
$1.00
Multi-Disc DVDs (3 per card)
14 days
$1.00
New DVDs (3 per card)
3 days
$1.00
Juvenile & Easy Books
21 days
$0.25
Juvenile & Easy DVDs (10 per card)
7 days
$0.25
Rental Materials
Loan Period
Fee
Bestseller Book
14 days
$2.00
DVD
7 days
$2.00

Renewing Materials

Cardholders may renew items if no one else has reserved the item. If there are reserves on the item, it may not be renewed. Items may be renewed only for two additional loan periods. Items may be renewed in person, by phone at 704-663-1701, or online.

Overdue Materials

As a courtesy, the library notifies patrons about overdue materials through a telemessaging system. The maximum fine incurred on each overdue item is $5.00.

Lost Materials

Materials that are overdue for 28 days are classified as "Lost" and the full replacement price is charged to the patron's library account. "Lost" items may be returned for credit / refund if they are in usable condition and returned within one year, if accompanied by a receipt.

Maximum Fees & Collection

To check out materials or use the public computers, patron fine balances may not exceed $5. Fine balances over $10.00 are sent to debt collection after 30 days.  Unique Management is a debt collection company that works only with libraries.  They contact Library patrons with unpaid balances on our behalf.  By law Library accounts may not be credit reported.

Our goal is to encourage the return of Library materials so that others may use them, not to take advantage of people who do not return their items on time.  Library staff will work with patrons to settle past dues accounts and keep accounts in "good standing."